Plasma Hack Week 2021: Pre-Hack-Week Python Tutorials

In the week before the Hack Week, we will host two online tutorials to introduce Python to students and scientists who are new to Python. These tutorials will be held on Monday, June 21 and Tuesday, June 22 at 15 UTC (4 pm CET / 11 am EDT / 8 am PDT). Each tutorial will last for about an hour. Please register for the Hack Week to receive connection information for the Python tutorials.

Tentative schedule

Monday, June 21 at 15 UTC

  • Why use Python?
  • Jupyter notebooks
  • Python data types
  • Loops and conditionals
  • Writing functions

Tuesday, June 22 at 15 UTC

  • Using NumPy to work with numerical data
  • Plotting numerical data with matplotlib